Important Dates

Abstract Submission Deadline:
Jul. 19

Early Bird Registration Deadline:
Sep. 20

Postdeadline Abstract Submission Deadline:
Oct. 8

Call For Papers

Special Symposium

DATE: 3/20/2019

Charles Kao's Symposium on Optical Fiber Communications

Chair: Alan Willner (USC), Xiang Liu (Futurewei Technologies)

Plenary Speakers

Peter J. Winzer

Bell Labs, USA

    Peter J. Winzer currently heads the Optical Transmission Systems and Networks Research Department at Bell Labs in Holmdel, NJ. At Bell Labs since 2000, he has focused on various aspects of high-bandwidth fiber-optic communication systems. He contributed to several high-speed and high-capacity optical transmission records with interface rates from 10 Gb/s to 1 Tb/s, including the first 100G and the first 400G electronically multiplexed optical transmission systems and the first field trial of live 100G video traffic over an existing carrier network. Since 2008 he has been investigating and internationally promoting spatial multiplexing as a promising option to scale optical transport systems beyond the capacity limits of single-mode fiber.
    Dr. Winzer is a Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher, the only one from industry in the Engineering category in 2015, a Bell Labs Fellow, a Fellow of the IEEE and the OSA, and an elected member of the US National Academy of Engineering. He received Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award in 2017 and is the recipient of the 2018 John Tyndall Award. Dr. Winzer is currently serving as Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology. He was Program Chair of the 2009 European Conference on Optical Communications (ECOC) and Program Chair and General Chair of the 2015 and 2017 Optical Fiber Communication Conference (OFC).

Ming-Jun Li

Corning Inc., USA

    Dr. Ming-Jun Li joined Corning in 1991 and is currently a Corning Corporate Fellow. He has been a key inventor of many optical fibers and fiber products for optical communications and sensing. These includes bend-insensitive ClearCurve® optical fibers, which received the R&D 100 Award and was selected by Time magazine’s “Best Inventions of the Year”; and LEAF® fiber, which won four industrial awards and was deployed with more than 30 million of kilometers of fiber in long haul networks.
    Dr. Li is a Fellow of Optical Society of America and IEEE. He has served as a Deputy Editor, Coordinating Committee Member and Associate Editor of the Journal of Lightwave Technology. He has been also served as a committee chair or member for many international conferences.
   Dr. Li holds over 100 U.S. patents and has published 3 book chapters and authored and coauthored over 200 technical papers in journals and conferences.

David Richardson

University of Southampton, UK

    David Richardson has been Deputy Director of the Optoelectronics Research Centre (ORC) at the University of Southampton with responsibility for optical fibre and laser related research since 2000. He has published more than 1,300 research papers and produced more than 30 patents during his time at Southampton.
    Professor Richardson is a Fellow of the IEEE, OSA and IET and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2009. He received a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award in 2013 for his optical communications research and was a recipient of the H2020 “Breaking the Optical Transmission Barriers” Horizon Prize following his involvement in the PHOTONMAP consortium. He currently leads the EPSRC-funded Airguide Photonics programme.
   He was one of the co-founders of SPI Lasers Ltd, an ORC spin-off venture acquired by the Trumpf Group in 2008, and more recently of Lumenisity Ltd which he co-founded in 2017.

Christopher R. Doerr

Acacia Communications, USA

    Christopher R. Doerr earned a B.S. in aeronautical engineering and a B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was a pilot in the U.S. Air Force. Since joining Bell Labs in 1995, Doerr’s research has focused on integrated devices for optical communication.
    He is a Fellow of IEEE and OSA. He received the OSA Engineering Excellence Award in 2002. He was Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Photonics Technology Letters from 2006-2008. He was an Associate Editor for the Journal of Lightwave Technology from 2008-2011. He was awarded the IEEE William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award in 2009 and Microoptics Conference Award in 2013. He became a Bell Labs Fellow in 2011. He joined Acacia Communications in 2011 as Associate Vice President of Integrated Photonics.


Hotel Reservation


Southwest Jiaotong University

University of Electronic Science and Technology of China


Technical Sponsors: